Ellen Johnson Sirleaf co-recipient of the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize

The Norwegian Nobel Committee announced today that the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize is awarded to Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee, Tawakkul Karman "for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work".

Chair of the EITI Clare Short said: "Congratulations to all the three laureates, including Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, long-time friend of the EITI.