Ms Awa Marie COLL-SECK

Position: 
Minister of State Senegal
Board Member Type: 
Implementing Countries

Nommée Présidente du Comité National de l’Initiative pour la Transparence dans les Industries Extractives, le 08 avril 2019, le Professeur Awa Marie Coll-Seck a été Ministre d’Etat auprès du Président de la République du Sénégal de Septembre 2017 à Avril 2019. Elle a également été Ministre de la Santé et de la Prévention (2001 à 2003), et Ministre de la Santé et de l’Action sociale (2012 à 2017) de la République du Sénégal.

Spécialiste des maladies infectieuses et bactériologie-virologie, MD, PhD, elle dirigeait le Département des maladies infectieuses à l’Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar-Sénégal, avant de commencer sa carrière internationale.

En tant que fonctionnaire international, le Professeur Coll-Seck a été Directrice Exécutive du Partenariat Roll Back Malaria (RMB) de 2004 à 2011 et Directrice du Département des politiques, de la stratégie et de la recherche d’ONUSIDA de 1996 à 2001.

Actuellement, le Professeur Coll-Seck siège dans le Conseil d’administration du Partenariat Roll Back Malaria pour enrayer le Paludisme, au Conseil scientifique de l’Université Cheick Zaïd (Maroc). Elle est également membre du CA de la Clinton Health Access Initiative,  du Jury du Prix ISA pour Services rendus à l’Humanité de Bahreïn, et du Jury du Prix Noguchi Afrique (Japon) pour la reconnaissance des réalisations exceptionnelles dans les domaines de la recherche médicale et des services médicaux en Afrique.

Co-présidente de la Commission OMS/UNICEF pour le réalignement de la Santé de l’enfant avec les Objectifs de Développement Durable, Mme Awa Marie Coll Seck est également membre du Comité consultatif du programme de leadership Ministériel de Harvard (Boston  -US).

Enfin, le Professeur Coll-Seck a reçu de nombreuses distinctions, dont celles de « Chevalier de l’Ordre du Mérite » du Sénégal, du Burkina Faso et de la Gambie, ainsi que de l’Ordre du Mérite et de la Légion d’Honneur de France. Elle a également reçu les Palmes académiques. Elle a été nommée « Meilleure Ministre du Monde » à Dubaï en février 2017 lors du Sommet Mondial des Gouvernements.

Professeur Coll-Seck, membre honoraire de l’Académie des Sciences et Technologies du Sénégal et de l’Académie Française de Pharmacie est également l’auteur de plus de 150 publications scientifiques.

Ancienne syndicaliste, elle dirige aujourd’hui un mouvement citoyen.

Pr Awa Marie COLL SECK est mariée et mère de 4 enfants et grand-mère.

Ms Awa Marie COLL-SECK

Position: 
Minister of State, Chair EITI National Committee, Senegal
Board Member Type: 
Implementing Countries

Professor Awa Marie Coll-Seck was appointed the Chair of the National Committee of the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative on 08 April 2019. Formerly a Minister of State to the President of the Republic of Senegal from September 2017 to April 2019, Minister of Health and Prevention (2001 to 2003), and Minister of Health and Social Action (2012 to 2017) of the Republic of Senegal.   

As a specialist in infectious diseases and bacteriology-virology, MD, PhD, she was the head of the Department of Infectious Diseases at the Cheikh Anta Diop University in Dakar-Senegal, before starting her international career. 

As an international civil servant, Professor Coll-Seck was Executive Director of the Roll Back Malaria Partnership (RMB) from 2004 to 2011 and Director of the Department of Policy, Strategy and Research of UNAIDS from 1996 to 2001.   

Currently, Professor Coll-Seck serves on the Board of the Roll Back Malaria Partnership to End Malaria, the Scientific Council of Cheick Zaïd University (Morocco). She is also a member of the Board of the Clinton Health Access Initiative, the Jury of the ISA Award for Service to Humanity in Bahrain, and the Jury of the Noguchi Africa Prize (Japan) for outstanding achievements in medical research and services in Africa.   

Co-chair of the WHO/UNICEF Commission for the Realignment of Child Health with the Sustainable Development Goals, Ms. Awa Marie Coll Seck is also a member of the Advisory Board of the Harvard Ministerial Leadership Program (Boston -US). 

Professor Coll-Seck has received numerous distinctions, including those of "Chevalier de l'Ordre du Mérite" of Senegal, Burkina Faso and Gambia, as well as the Order of Merit and the Legion of Honour of France. She was also awarded the Palmes académiques. She was named "World's Best Minister" in Dubai in February 2017 at the World Government Summit. 

Professor Coll-Seck, an honorary member of the Academy of Science and Technology of Senegal and of the French Academy of Pharmacy, is also the author of more than 150 scientific publications. 

As a former trade unionist, she now leads a citizens' movement. 

Pr Awa Marie Coll-Seck is married and mother of 4 children and grandmother.