News and blog posts

Call for nominations for the 2013 EITI Chair's Award

The winners will be announced at the EITI Global Conference in Sydney.

Clare Short, EITI Chair, invites all stakeholders to nominate one of the EITI implementing countries that you consider deserves an EITI Chair's Award.

The winners will be announced at the evening reception on 23 May at the EITI Global Conference in Sydney. It will be awarded to countries that have shown leadership, determination and resourcefulness in implementing the EITI. Up to three awards will be given.

Deadline for nominations: 1 May 2013.

Nominations should be submitted to, with "EITI Award Nomination" in the subject line. All EITI Candidate and EITI Compliant countries are eligible for nomination. Anyone may submit a nomination. In nominating, brief justifications are encouraged.

 We encourage anyone wishing to make a nomination to consider the following:

  1. Which country has shown the strongest commitment to transparency and accountability in the extractives sector ?
  2. Which country has made the most progress in the past two years?
  3. Which country has made the most impressive progress in overcoming capacity constraints?
  4. Which country has published the most useful EITI Report including efforts to spread awareness and stimulate debate about how the country's natural resources are managed.
  5. In which country has the EITI had the most wider impact?

Previous winners

At the latest EITI Global Conference in Paris in 2011 three countries were awarded:

  • Mongolia for consistent improvement in reporting;
  • The Central African Republic for rapid implementation; and
  • The Kyrgyz Republic for achievement despite political instability.
At the EITI Global Conference in Doha in 2009, the following three countries won:
  • Liberia for its rapid progress;
  • Azerbaijan for being the first compliant country, and
  • Kazakhstan for its communication efforts.