Tanzania Multi-Stakeholder Group Inaugurated

On 17 November 2009, the Deputy Minister of Energy and Minerals officially inaugurated Tanzania’s EITI Multi-Stakeholder Working Group. The Group consists of five members each from government, companies, and civil society, plus a chairperson, who has yet to be appointed. In its inaugural session, the MSG elected the Commissioner of Minerals as its interim chairman. Decisions taken during the inaugural session included a quorum rule and modalities for the creation of a Tanzania EITI Secretariat.

Tanzania became an EITI Candidate country on 16 February 2009. It has until 15 February 2011 to complete an EITI Validation in order to become EITI Compliant.