Nominations open for EITI Chair's Awards

The EITI Chair wishes to invite all EITI stakeholders to nominate implementing countries for awards to be announced at the Global Conference in Paris in June 2019.

The EITI Chair's Awards recognise countries that have shown leadership, determination and resourcefulness in implementing the EITI.

The deadline for nominations is 15 May 2019. Nominations should be submitted to, with "EITI Award Nomination" in the subject line.

All implementing countries are eligible for nomination. Anyone may submit a nomination.

In nominating, brief citations are encouraged. We encourage anyone wishing to make a nomination to consider the following:

    Which country has shown the strongest commitment to transparency and accountability in the extractives sector?

    Which country has made the most impressive progress in overcoming challenges and capacity constraints?

    Which country has published the most useful information?

    Which country have made the biggest changes to systematically disclose their extractives data?

    In which country has the EITI had the biggest impact?

At the last EITI Global Conference in Lima, the four winners in 2016 were:

  • The Democratic Republic of Congo for leading the way on beneficial ownership.
  • Ghana for taking the recommendations from its EITI Reports and turning them into reforms.
  • Mongolia for its improvements in making data available.
  • The Philippines for the impact of its EITI.