Open Government Partnership

The Open Government Partnership (OGP) is a new multilateral initiative that aims to secure concrete commitments from governments to promote transparency, empower citizens, fight corruption, and harness new technologies to strengthen governance. The OGP formally launched on 20 September 2011, when the 8 founding governments (Brazil, Indonesia, Mexico, Norway, Philippines, South Africa, United Kingdom, United States) endorsed an Open Government Declaration, and announced their country action plans. Since the launch, OGP has welcomed the commitment of 47 additional governments to join the Partnership.

Many governments have included measures to improve transparency of natural resource revenues in their country action plans, including to implement the EITI. 11 of the countries in the OGP are already implementing the EITI. At the inaugural meeting in September 2011, the United States commited to implement the EITI; at the meeting in March 2012, Colombia and Ukraine also commited to implement the EITI.