Ellen Johnson Sirleaf co-recipient of the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize

The Norwegian Nobel Committee announced today that the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize is awarded to Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee, Tawakkul Karman "for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work".

Chair of the EITI Clare Short said: "Congratulations to all the three laureates, including Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, long-time friend of the EITI. Her pioneering efforts to build trust and fight corruption by implementing the EITI standard led to Liberia winning the 2009 EITI Award. Working together with civil society and extractive companies, Liberia became the first African country to be declared EITI Compliant."

President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf wrote in the foreword to an EITI publication: “Trust is the greatest asset a country can have. Liberia EITI represents an important step in advancing our efforts to engage with stakeholders, to talk about our resources, and to build trust in our communities” 

For further information about Liberia's EITI process, visit the Liberia country page on the EITI website, or contact Regional Director Francisco Paris.