

Minutes from the EITI Members' Meeting

Oslo, 16 February 2009

On 16 February 2009, a Members' Meeting in The Association for the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI) was held in Doha, Qatar.

1 Chair of the meeting and signature of the minutes

Peter Eigen would chair the Meeting as provided in the Articles of Association. Jonas Moberg was elected to sign the Minutes of the Meeting together with the Chair.

2 Quorum

The Members present are listed in an appendix to the Minutes.

The Members' Meeting thus formed a quorum.

3 Election of the EITI Board

The Constituencies had nominated the following as Board Members and Alternates:

Board Members and their Alternates from the Constituency of Countries:

Implementing Countries

Mr. Abdoul Aziz ASKIA, Permanent Secretary, EITI Niger Alternate: Mr. Sidi OULD ZEÏNE, Chairman, EITI Mauritania

Mr. Essimi MENYE, Minister of Finance, Chairman EITI, Cameroon Alternate: **Mr. T. Negbalee WARNER**, National Coordinator, EITI Liberia

Prof. Humphrey ASSISI ASOBIE, Chairman, NEITI Nigeria Alternate: Mr. Nana Juaben-Boaten SIRIBOE, Chairman EITI, Ghana

Mr. Kairat DJUMALIEV, Head, Energy and Mineral Resources Department, Kyrgyzstan Alternate: **Mr. Alfredo PIRES**, Secretary of State for Natural Resources, Timor-Leste

Mr. Shahmar MOVSUMOV, Executive Director, State Oil Fund, Azerbaijan Alternate: **Mr. Dashdorj ZORIGT**, Minister for Mineral Resources and Energy, Mongolia

Supporting Countries

Mr. Mark PEARSON, Director General, External Relations, Science and Policy Integration, Natural Resources Canada

Alternate: **Mr. Stephen GALLOGLY**, Director for International Energy and Commodity Policy, State Dep., United States

Mr. Jostein LEIRO, Deputy Direct General, UN Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Norway Alternate: **Mr. Henk MAHIEU**, General Counsellor, Dept. of Economic Issues, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Belgium

Ms Ingrid – Gabriela HOVEN, Director General, Ministry for Economic Co-operation and Development, Germany Alternate: **Hon Michel DOUCIN**, Ambassador, Corporate Social Responsibility and Bioethics, Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs, France

Board Members and their Alternates from the Constituency of Companies:

Mr. Ruíz Funes MARIANO, Coordinador de Asesores, General Directorate, PEMEX Alternate: **Mr. Reidar GJÆRUM**, Senior Vice President, Corporate Communication, StatoilHydro

Mr. Stuart BROOKS, Manager, International Relations, Chevron Alternate: **Dr. John KELLY**, Coordinator, Planning and Issues Upstream Public Affairs, ExxonMobil

Mr. David BAKER, Vice President for Government and Environmental Affairs, Newmont Alternate: **Mr. Olivier LOUBIÈRE**, Corporate Business Ethics Advisor, AREVA

Dr. R. Anthony HODGE, President, International Council on Mining and Metals

Mr. Jean-François LASSALLE, Vice President of E&P Public Affairs, Total Alternate: **Mr. Keith RUDDOCK**, General Counsel - Exploration and Production, Royal Dutch Shell

Ms. Julie McDOWELL, Standard Life Investments Alternate: **Mr. David DIAMOND**, Co-Head of SRI Development, Allianz Global Investors

Board Members and their Alternates from the Constituency of Civil Society Organisations:

Mr. Ingilab AHMADOV, Director of the Public Finance Monitoring Centre - Baku, Azerbaijan Alternate: **Mr. Dorjdari NAMKHAIJANTSAN**, Open Society Forum, Mongolia

Mr. Alfred BROWNELL, Green Advocates, Liberia Alternate: **Mr. Eduardo BOHORQUEZ**, Transparencia Mexicana/Transparency International, Mexico

Mr. Christian MOUNZEO, Coordinator PWYP Congo/President Rencontre Pour la Paix les Droits de l'Homme, Republic of the Congo Alternate: **Mr. Gilbert MAOUNDONODJI**, Coordinator, Groupe de Recherches Alternatives et de Monitoring du Projet Petrole Tchad-Cameroun, Chad

Mr. Bennett FREEMAN, Oxfam America/Oxfam International Alternate: **Mr. Michel ROY**, International Advocacy Director, Secours Catholique, France

Mr. Anthony RICHTER, Revenue Watch Institute, United States Alternate: **Ms. Radhika SARIN**, Coordinator, Publish What You Pay

The nominated Board Members and Alternates were unanimously elected.

4 Election of the EITI Chair

On proposal from the outgoing EITI International Board Peter Eigen was unanimously elected as EITI Chair.

5 Auditor

As auditor for the Association was proposed Lars Bakketun, MGI REVISJON, Norway.

The proposal was unanimously approved.

There were no further issues on the agenda and the Members' Meeting was thus adjourned.