EITI Opening Up Ownership: Africa conference in Dakar – for information

The regional conference on beneficial ownership transparency organised together with the Government of Senegal with support from the Governments of Denmark, France and the UK will be at the <u>King Fahd Conference Centre</u> on 31 October – 2 November. Support has also been received from BP, Cairn Energy, Kosmos Energy and Woodside.

The conference will showcase good practices and progress made by EITI countries implementing beneficial ownership disclosure, discuss challenges, provide peer-learning and exchange experiences. Senior government officials from 24 African EITI countries, including ministers and experts in the field of ownership transparency are expected to attend. Two days of workshops have been scheduled on a number of technical issues that EITI countries are currently addressing, including legal approaches to beneficial ownership transparency and how to collect, publish and verify beneficial ownership data.

More information on the draft agenda is available <u>on the EITI website</u>, which will be updated with confirmed speakers in the coming weeks. The Conference will start right after the end of the Board meeting at 14:00 on 31 October, with an opening panel on *Beneficial Ownership and Domestic Resource Mobilisation*. Board members are encouraged to attend the opening ceremony with President Macky Sall as the keynote speaker after this session. Please let Leah know if you plan on attending the conference on 01-02 November.

For further information about the conference, please contact Bady Balde (<u>BBalde@eiti.org</u>) or Leah Krogsund (<u>LKrogsund@eiti.org</u>).

1.1 Schedule of events

We foresee the following schedule of events – all meetings will be held at the King Fahd Conference Centre:

Wednesday 31 October	
13:00 - 16:30	Beneficial Ownership Conference: Opening panel discussion: Beneficial ownership and domestic resource mobilisation (Room B12)
17:30 – 18:30	Beneficial Ownership Conference: Official opening Keynote addresses by HE Macky Sall, President of the Republic of Senegal and other high-level speakers (Amphitheatre)
18:30 – 22:00	Reception Hosted by the Government of Senegal (<i>Poolside – King Fahd Hotel</i>)
Thursday 01 November	
09:00 - 17:00	Beneficial Ownership Conference continues (see separate agenda)
18:00 - 21:00	Informal Buffet Dinner

Friday 02 November 09:00 – 13:00

Beneficial Ownership Conference continues (see separate agenda)

1.2 Accommodation

Hotel rooms have been blocked (not reserved) for participants at three different hotels in Dakar, in addition to the King Fahd Hotel.

Self-sponsored participants are asked to book their own accommodation. To reserve your room, please use the contact details provided for each hotel.

1. King Fahd Palace Hotel

Route des Almadies, Dakar Email: <u>conference.dakar@kingfahdpalacehotels.com</u> website

- Yaas Hotel (Closest to the King Fahd Conference Centre) Route des Almadies, Dakar Email: <u>reservations.almadies@yaashotels.com</u> website
- Fleur de Lys Hotel
 64 rue Félix Faure, Dakar

 Email: <u>contact@hotelfleuredelysdakar.com</u>
 <u>website</u>
- Onomo Hotel Dakar Airport
 Route de l'Aéroport, Dakar
 Tel: + 221 77 740 01 40
 Email: sales.dakar@onomohotel.com
 website

1.3 Visa

Participants are responsible for ensuring that they have the necessary entry visa for their travel to Dakar. Participants from the below mentioned countries do not need visas to enter Senegal. If your nationality is not on the list below, you will be able to obtain a visa on arrival. Please contact Leah Krogsund (<u>LKrogsund@eiti.org</u>) by 10 October if you need a visa on arrival. For a complete overview of visa requirements for Senegal, see <u>here</u>.

All European Union citizens, and nationals from the following countries <u>do not</u> require visa entry to Senegal: Algeria, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Benin, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, **Burkina Faso**, Burundi, **Cameroon**, Canada, Cape Verde, **Central African Republic**, **Chad**, Comoros, **Congo**, **Democratic Republic of the Congo**, Costa Rica, **Côte d'Ivoire**, Egypt, El Salvador, **Ethiopia**, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, **Ghana**, Grenada, **Guatemala**, **Guinea**, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, **Honduras**, Iceland, India, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kosovo, Kuwait, Lesotho, **Liberia**, Liechtenstein, **Madagascar, Malawi**, Malaysia, **Mali**, Marshall Islands, **Mauritania**, Mauritius, Micronesia, Monaco, Morocco, Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, **Niger, Nigeria, Norway**, Oman, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, **Seychelles, Sierra Leone**, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Korea, Sri Lanka, **Suriname**, Swaziland, Switzerland, Thailand, **Timor-Leste, Togo, Tunisia**, Turkey, Tuvalu, Uganda, **Ukraine**, United Arab Emirates, **United States**, Vanuatu, Vatican City, **Zambia**, Zimbabwe.