How we work

Working together to improve the governance of the extractive sector

The implementation of the EITI Standard takes place in EITI countries. The role of the international management (the Secretariat and the Board) is to support and encourage its meaningful implementation.

The EITI Board seeks to improve the governance of the extractives sector globally.

Implementing the Standard nationally

The Standard serves as a tool for countries to improve the management of their oil, gas and mining sectors.

Implementation happens in three steps: 

  1. A national multi-stakeholder group (government, companies and civil society) decides how the EITI process in their country should work. 
  2. Key information about the governance of the sector is reported annually alongside recommendations for improving sector governance. 
  3. This information is widely disseminated to inform public debate and recommendations are often followed up.

The countries also publish key information in excel files. This allows the information to be shared, compared and analysed. 

Upholding the Standard internationally: Validation

The international Board upholds the EITI Standard. It monitors and assesses the progress of countries in meeting the requirements of the Standard. All implementing countries are held to the same global standard.

Every country that joins the EITI as a member is assessed against the EITI Standard in a process called Validation. EITI Validation reviews the country’s progress against the EITI Requirements, analyses the impact, and makes recommendations for strengthening the process and improving the governance of the sector.

The EITI Board, through the EITI Secretariat, oversees the Validation process. The Board then ascribes the country as having made satisfactory progress (sometimes referred to as ‘compliance’), meaningful progress, inadequate progress or no progress.

Depending on the outcome of its Validation, the country is re-assessed anywhere between three months and three years. This encourages continuous improvement and safeguards the integrity of the EITI. 

Degrees of progress – country status explained

The Validation of a country against the Standard can yield the following results:

Satisfactory progress

This status designates that all aspects of each requirement have been implemented and the broader objectives of the requirements have been fulfilled. The country is coloured dark green on the EITI map.

Meaningful progress

This means that significant aspects of each requirement have been implemented and the broader objectives of the requirements are being fulfilled. The country is coloured light green on the EITI map.

Where progress is meaningful, the country will be given a timeline to meet the outstanding requirements. If it does not meet the deadline, it might be suspended (turns amber on the map). 

Inadequate progress

If a country is found to have made inadequate progress it means that significant aspects of each requirement have been not been implemented and the broader objectives of the requirements are far from being fulfilled. The country is coloured yellow on the EITI map.

Where there is inadequate progress, the country will be suspended and be given a timeline to meet the outstanding requirements.  

No progress

If all or nearly all aspects of each requirement remain outstanding and the broader objectives of the requirements are not fulfilled, the country is deemed to have made no progress and is coloured red on the EITI mapNo progress leads to the delisting of the country. The EITI Board takes the final decision on delisting.

Yet to be assessed against the Standard

Many countries have not yet been assessed against the EITI Standard. Their status is turquoise on the EITI map. The Validation schedule lists when countries will commence Validation under the Standard. 

Before being assessed against the Standard, countries were measured against the EITI Rules. The overview of what statuses the countries under the EITI Rules can be found here.  


A country can be suspended

A suspended country is on "pause". It means that it has not made important progress or that it cannot continue the work of EITI process in the country for social or political reasons.

A country can be suspended when:

  • the country has not made any important progress
  • the situation in the country does not allow the EITI process to move ahead, such as in the case of political conflict.
  • the country manifestly breaches the EITI Principles and Requirements.

It does not matter what degree of progress the country had (or if it had already been validated) when it gets suspended.

On our map of EITI countries, the country is coloured in yellow (suspended).

The government of a suspended country may apply to have the suspension lifted at any time.

A country can be delisted

This means that a country's status as EITI implementing country is revoked. This happens when:

  • it has been suspended and has not addressed the corrective matters as identified by the Board.
  • it hasn't made enough progress in implementing the Standard within the required timeframe.
  • if it manifestly fails to adhere to a significant aspect to the EITI Principles and Requirements.

On our map of EITI countries countries are coloured red or are returned to neutral. It is no longer an implementing country.

A delisted country may reapply for readmission as an EITI country at any time.

Is an EITI implementing country free of corruption?

Even if a country is found making satisfactory or meaningful progress, it does not indicate whether there is corruption in the country or not. It simply means that the country has put into practice significant aspects of all EITI Requirements and thus has sufficient mechanisms of public disclosure of natural resources.

Countries use the EITI as a tool to identify and address weaknesses in the management of their natural resources. It is not a silver bullet to solve all corruption issues in the country, but it might help. 

Country statuses under the 2011 Rules

Up to 2015, EITI countries where assessed against the 2011 Rules. The terms used for country statuses then referred to “compliant” and “candidate”. This has changed now that countries will all be evaluated against the 2016 EITI Standard.

What the Standard says about country statuses

The assessment of progress of a country on the requirements is laid out in requirement 8.3 in the EITI Standard.