The EITI Board

Working together to advance transparency and accountability


The Board is the EITI's main governing body. It consists of 20 members representing implementing countries, supporting countries, civil society organisations, industry and institutional investors. Each Board member except the Chair is invited to have an alternate, who is welcome to observe Board meetings and deputise for the member. 

It decides on priorities for the organisation and evaluates countries' performance in reaching the requirements of the Standard.

The Board meets two to four times a year. It also takes decisions via Board circulars on a more frequent basis.

The current Chair of the EITI International Board is Rt Hon. Helen Clark.